2021 President’s Award of Recognition

The 2021 President’s Award of Recognition was presented to


in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the advancement of land economics

The President’s Award of Recognition was presented to Doug Annand at the Simcoe Chapter’s virtual AGM held on January 12, 2022.

Doug Annand is one of most highly respected practitioners in the fields of economic, market and strategic real estate consulting. His career spans over 40 years, both as a founding partner of urbanMetrics, and prior to that, the national partner and leader of the PricewaterhouseCoopers and Coopers & Lybrand Real Estate Advisory Services Practice.

For over 10 years Doug led the National Real Estate Practice at Coopers & Lybrand and after the merger with Price Waterhouse at PwC. Over that period Doug added new practice areas, such as Appraisal/Valuation Services, Capital Markets, Disposition Strategies, Corporate Site Selection Services, amongst others. Over that same period Doug expanded the Real Estate Practice as a truly national practice by opening offices in Calgary, Vancouver and Montreal. With Real Estate becoming a global practice after the PwC merger, Doug represented Canada, as part of the Global Real Estate Team. However, with mandatory retirement for partners at 60 at PwC Doug with a number of Senior PwC colleagues started urbanMetrics, which continued to offer many of the services that had been offered at PwC.

Although he has carried out a wide range of real estate assignments both nationally and internationally, Doug is particularly well known for consulting assignments in the areas of market research and impact analysis, most notably in the commercial sector. He has also conducted many assignments dealing with highest and best use, and real estate valuation. Doug may be best known for his expertise as an expert witness at the Ontario Municipal Board (subsequently the Local Planning Appeal Tribunal, now the Ontario Land Tribunal) and in the Provincial Courts.

In addition, Doug has devoted a significant amount of time on various not-for-profit boards, including: Chair of the Board at Kingsway College School in Etobicoke; President of the Central Lake Rosseau Residents Association, on the Boards of Craigleith Ski Club and Muskoka Lakes Golf and Country Club where he chaired various committees but largely those dealing with facilities and real estate. Doug is currently a member of the Toronto Land Corporation Board, a subsidiary of the Toronto District School Board, which oversees the management, redevelopment, and potential disposition of over 600 instructional and non-instructional properties in the City of Toronto.

Previous recipients of the President’s Award include:

2020 Robert G. Glover
2019 Ian James Lord
2018. Robert E. Millward
2017 John W. Livey
2016 Robert W. McBride
2015 Robert E. Jarvis, QC*
2014 Susan de Avellar Schiller
2013 Edward J. Levy
2012 Raymond J. Simpson*
2011 Frank A. Clayton
2010 Neal A. Irwin
2009 H. Ian Macdonald
2008 Larry S. Bourne
2007 Stanley B. Heidman*
2006 Diana L. Santo*
2005 Kenneth Rotenberg*
2004 Eberhard H. Zeidler*
2003 Len Gertler*